Committee members

The National Committee comprises representatives from each of the CoML projects. The current committee is not currently convened but the current Chairman is Dr Nic Bax, CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research.

Dr Bax is also a Professor at the University of Tasmania and leads the Marine Biodiversity Hub for the Australian Government's Commonwealth Environment Research Facilities (CERF) program.

CoML Group

Liaison / Primary Point of Contact


Barcode of Life (BCOL)

Dr Robert Ward, Co-chair FISH-BOL


Census of Antarctic Marine Life (CAML)

Dr Vicky Wadley

Australian Antarctic Division

Census of Coral Reef Ecosystems (CReefs)

Dr Julian Caley

Australian Institute of Marine Science

Census of Marine Life on Seamounts (Censeam)

Dr. Alan Williams


Continental Margin Ecosystems (COMARGE)

Drs. Piers Dunstan and Gary Poore


Great Barrier Reef (GBR) Seabed Biodiversity Project (SBBP)
(CoML affiliated project)

Dr. Roland Pitcher


History of Marine Animal Populations Asia (HMAP)

Prof Malcolm Tull

Murdoch University

Mapping & Visualization



Ocean Biogreographic Information System (OBIS)

Tony Rees, CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research


Pacific Ocean Shelf Tracking (POST)

Prof George Jackson

University of Tasmania


Drs. Alan Butler and Nic Bax, CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research


Tagging of Pacific Predators (TOPP)

Dr. Karen Evans and Jason Hartog